The Sixth Mark of Mission: Building Financially Sustainable Congregations

The Episcopal Church has adopted “Five Marks of Mission” to guide the work of its congregations.  The marks are:

  • To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom;
  • To teach, baptize and nurture new believers;
  • To respond to human need by loving service;
  • To seek to transform unjust structures of society,
  • To challenge violence of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation;
  • To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth.

We believe there is a sixth mark of mission that is essential if congregations hope to achieve any of the original five marks of mission.  The sixth mark is to build financially sustainable congregations.

Resource Downloads