2022 Diocesan Convention Summary

The 112th Convention of the Episcopal Diocese of Olympia (2022)

Bishop Provisional

The convention voted to place the Diocese of Olympia under the provisional charge of the Most Rev. Melissa Skelton, effective January 1, 2023, or as soon as practical thereafter, until such time as a new Bishop Diocesan is elected and ordained, or until this act is revoked by the convention.

Updates to the Constitution & Canons

Proposals from the Committee on Constitution & Canons were adopted as submitted. These changes will be updated in the Constitution & Canons of the Diocese of Olympia, and a new version will be published in early 2023.

2023 Diocesan Operating Budget

The 2023 diocesan operating budget, adopted by the Diocesan Council, was ratified as presented.


During the review process, a typographical error was found on General Convention clergy ballot #1. Rather than one clergy being elected on the first ballot, two were elected, with Rachel Taber-Hamilton being elected in the first position (C1) and Malcolm McLaurin in the second position (C2).

  • Rachel Taber-Hamilton, Trinity, Everett, received 57 clergy votes (originally reported as 48) and 154 lay votes for a total of 211 votes.
  • Malcolm McLaurin, Holy Cross, Redmond, received 68 clergy votes and 113 lay votes for a total of 181 votes.

Our deputation chair will be Judith Andrews, who, on the first lay ballot, received 83 clergy votes and 138 lay votes for a total of 221 votes. This is based on our constitution, Article XII, section 3(e)), which states: On the first ballot from which a Deputy is elected, the candidate receiving the highest number of votes in both orders combined shall serve as chair of the diocesan deputation.


Our full deputation to the 2024 General Convention is as follows:

General Convention clergy:


C1           Rachel Taber-Hamilton, Trinity, Everett

C2           Malcolm McLaurin, Holy Cross, Redmond

C3           Sabeth Fitzgibbons, Trinity, Seattle

C4           Britt Olson, St. Luke’s, Seattle


C5           Jedediah Fox, Redeemer, Kenmore

C6           Elise Johnstone, St. John the Baptist, Seattle

C7           Nic Mather, St. Stephen’s, Longview

C8           Ruth Anne Garcia, St. James, Kent

General Convention lay:


L1            Judith Andrews, Saint Mark’s Cathedral, Seattle (Chair)

L2            Sharalyne King, St. Stephen’s, Longview

L3            Tiernan Sweeny-Bender, Epiphany, Seattle

L4            Michael Seewer, Saint Mark’s Cathedral, Seattle


L5            April Thomson, Christ Church, Blaine

L6            Karen Sjostrom, St. John’s, Kirkland

L7            Lillian Springer, St. Matthew’s/San Mateo, Auburn

L8            Alisa Johnson, Good Shepherd, Federal Way


Additional Elections

Secretary of Convention: The Rev. Dr. Marda Steedman Sanborn

Commission on Ministry clergy-deacon order: Emily Austin, Saint Mark’s Cathedral, Seattle

Diocesan Council Evergreen Regional Ministry: The Rev. Josh Hosler, Church of the Good Shep., Federal Way

Diocesan Council Holy C Regional Ministry: Emily Meeks, St. Mark’s Cathedral, Seattle

Diocesan Council Mt Baker Regional Ministry: The Rev. Baudelina Paz, Resurreccion, Mount Vernon

Diocesan Council Rainier Regional Ministry: Maitland McKenzie, St. Mary’s, Lakewood

Diocesan Council at-large: Karen Sjostrom, St. John’s, Kirkland

Standing Committee lay order: Carole Loudenback, Church of the Good Shepherd, Federal Way

Standing Committee clergy order: Elise Johnstone, St. John the Baptist, Seattle (four-year term); Jed Fox, Church of the Redeemer, Kenmore (two-year term)

Archivist & Records Manager: Erik Bauer

Treasurer: James Beckwith



Chancellor: Judy Andrews

Vice Chancellor: Bryan Krislock

Assistant Chancellor: Rosemarie LeMoine

Board of Directors: The Rev. David Marshall, St. Dunstan’s, Shoreline

Diocesan Council BIPOC: The Rev. Jesus Reyes, St. Luke’s, Vancouver; The Rev. Malcolm McLaurin, Holy Cross, Redmond

Personnel Commission: The Rev. Mike Mayor, Christ Church, Puyallup; Karla Koon, St. Andrew’s, Seattle

Disciplinary Board: The Rev. Marilyn Cornwell, retired; John Hoerster, Saint Mark’s Cathedral, Seattle; The Rev. Jedediah Fox, Redeemer, Kenmore.

Church Attorneys: Marvin L. Gray, Jr., Ascension, Seattle; Douglas Oles, Epiphany, Seattle

Resource Category