Diocese of Olympia — Governance Structure

Bishop Diocesan / Bishop Provisional

Convention

[elects officers, ratifies a budget, sets assessment rate, votes on resolutions, admits new missions and parishes, elects GB members, hears bishop's address] Membership—clergy and lay members elected by congregations.

Bishop's Office Staff

[leadership, program oversight, new ministry development; resources for congregations, ministries, regions, individuals, clergy; wider perspective, support, accountability; power to convene, challenge congregations and provide a unifying vision]

Diocese of Olympia, Inc.

[the diocesan corporation; incorporated in the State of Washington]

Board of Directors

[stewardship, control & investment of trust funds, holds legal title to all mission & diocesan property, approves construction plans for all mission property and loans for construction and renovation projects, redevelopment of property] Bishop-appointed membership: 2 clergy, 6 lay; bishop, treasurer, secretary of convention, chancellor (non-voting).

Committee on Constitution and Canons

Constitution—fundamental document describes who we are and relationship to national church. Canons—rules & regulations for implementation

Regional Ministries

[10 geographical divisions, forum to discuss local issues, local connections]

Canonical Commissions

Commission on Ministry, Commission on Personnel

Diocesan Council

[convention in recess, fiduciary responsibility, budget oversight, mission and vision, program administration and support, public relations, facilitated conversations, promotes connectedness, supports commissions, committees & task forces] Membership is in transition through fall 2024. For 2024 membership includes: the bishop, 12 members representing geographical areas of the diocese; 4 at-large members, and 4 members representing the BIPOC community.

Standing Committee

[council of advice for bishop, approves construction plans for parishes, role in ordination consent process, judicial role in cases of clergy misconduct, consents to election of bishops in wider church, manages Mutual Ministry Review process, ecclesiastical authority in absence of bishop] Eight members—four clergy & four lay elected by convention for four-year terms.

Joint Finance Panel

Program

Commissions.

Committees.

and Task

Groups

[connection & transparency between Board, Diocesan Council & Stranding Committee, final review for finances] Convened by diocesan treasurer, 2 members each from Board, Diocesan Council, and diocesan staff; 1 member from Standing Committee.

Commission on Church Architecture

[advisory; reviews and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors regarding plans for new construction and/or renovation projects]

Diocesan Investment Fund Committee

[oversight of investment funds—diocesan as well as from participant congregations and ministries]

Loan & Property Committee