Report of the Commission on Ministry

Dear Bishop Rickel and the Clergy & Delegates of the 109th Convention of the Diocese of Olympia,

The Commission on Ministry (COM) serves as a council of advice to the bishop in matters of vocational discernment, with particular emphasis on working with those discerning vocations in ordained ministry. At the bishop's request, the Commission has devoted considerable effort in establishing standards for orientation of phase 2 discernment committees as well as enhanced communication via the COM liaison program. The Commission has engaged rectors and vicars about the roles and responsibilities they have in support of aspirants. In it all, it is our hope that these efforts will reduce the potential for confusion while fostering a process that will be experienced positively by all involved.

Significant Events and Engagements:

Emily Austin, Missy Couch, Liz Van Dyke, and Barb Weza were ordained to the Sacred Order of Deacons at the 108th Convention of the Diocese of Olympia, in SeaTac, WA.

Arlen Farley, Jonathan Hanneman, and Christopher McPeak were ordained to the Sacred Order of Priests on June 18, 2019 at Saint Mark's Cathedral, Seattle.

We have been blessed to walk with the following individuals who are still in the process for ordination:



Postulants (Diaconate): David Bishop, St. Luke, Tacoma; Alan Christensen, Christ Church, Seattle.

Postulants (Priesthood): James Ayuen, St. John Sudanese, Tukwila; Mary Bol, St. John Sudanese, Tukwila; Gerry Brennan, St. James, Cathlamet; Shane Carlson, St. Antony of Egypt, Silverdale; Tula Habb, Holy Family of Jesus, Tacoma; Chuck Huff, St. Hugh, Allyn; Malcolm McLaurin, Saint Mark's Cathedral, Seattle; Baudelina Paz, Resurrección, Mt. Vernon.

Candidates (Diaconate): Linda Potter, Good Shepherd, Federal Way.

Candidates (Priesthood): Michael Beaton, St. John / San Juan, Olympia; Stephen Crippen, St. Paul, Seattle; Natalie Johnson, Christ Church, Seattle; Hillary Kimsey, St. Paul, Bremerton.

Commission members include the Chair, The Very Rev. Steven L. Thomason; Diana Bender; The Rev. Doyt Conn; The Rev. Steve Danzey, liaison from the Standing Committee; The Rev. Karen Haig; The Rev. Eric Johnson; Mary Lyons; Patricia McGuire, Roberta Newell, liaison from the Standing Committee; The Rev. Becky Scott; The Rev. Craig Vocelka, liaison to the Examining Chaplains;. Ex Officio members include April Caballero; The Ven. Gen Grewell; The Rt. Rev. Gregory H. Rickel; The Rev. Canon Marda Steedman Sanborn.

Faithfully,

The Very Rev. Steven L. Thomason Chair, Commission on Ministry