## **Report of the Commission on Ministry**

Dear Bishop Rickel and the Clergy & Delegates of the 107<sup>th</sup> Convention of the Diocese of Olympia,

The work of your Commission on Ministry this past year has included discussions on discernment for lay persons, updating our Holy Orders Vocations manual, as well as conversations about alcoholism, addiction, and recovery. We have been focused on finalizing our process for directly exploring substance use in the lives and family systems of all nominees, postulants and candidates. New strategies and policies for working with these areas are not quite complete.

The Commission on Ministry has also been revising the Application for Postulancy to improve its clarity and focus; adopting a customary for sharing information with rectors, vestry members and nominees as Discernment teams are launched as well as increasing clarity regarding our role as Liaisons with postulants.



Photo: Bishop Rickel with Meghan Mullarkey, Juli Mallett, and Cristi Chapman.

On December 17, 2016 at Diocesan House, Bishop Rickel ordained Cristi Chapman, Douglas Dornhecker, Juli Mallett, and Meghan Mullarkey as transitional deacons. Douglas was ordained to the Sacred Order of Priests on June 3, 2017 at St. John, Olympia. Cristi, Juli, and Meghan were to the Sacred Order of Priests at St. Mark's Cathedral on June 20, 2017.

Brian Gregory and Brian Lennstrom were ordained as transitional deacons on July 6, 2017 at Diocesan House.

We have been blessed to walk with the following individuals who are still in the process for ordination:

Postulants (priest): Jonathan Hanneman, St. Dunstan, Shoreline; Allan Hicks, Trinity, Everett; Chuck Huff, St. Bede, Port Orchard; Charo Portaro, St. John, Olympia; Gustavo Portaro, St. John, Olympia.

Postulants (Deacon): Emily Austin, Redeemer, Kenmore; David Bishop, St. Luke, Tacoma; Jeffrey Boyce, St. Andrew, Tacoma; Missy Couch, St. Margaret, Bellevue; Doug Dahlgren (currently on leave), Christ Church, Tacoma; Barb Weza, St. David of Wales, Shelton.

Candidates (Deacon): Pat Grodt, Trinity, Everett; Bill Thaete, St. Bede, Port Orchard.

TCM Circle (Not Seeking Orders): Diane Canington, Christ Church, Anacortes; June Cook, Christ Church, Anacortes.

Faithfully,

Marda Steedman Sanborn on behalf of The Commission on Ministry