Diocesan Council Report to Convention 2018

The Diocesan Council (DC) is the convention in recess. It has responsibility to oversee the budget and program goals of the Diocese, and to carry out the priorities adopted by convention. DC members accept assignments, work on task groups, and attend regional, committee, and commission meetings as necessary. DC agendas include items for discussion and conversation, presentations, updates and reports. In 2018 DC members focused on:

- Developing a policy on providing needed services & accommodations at convention & pre-convention gatherings;
- Continued support for implementation of our new diocesan vision including priorities and next steps;
- Joining the bishop on and learning from visitations to congregations; and,
- Participation with the other governing bodies in the Mutual Ministry Review for the bishop, as well as the presiding bishop's visit.

Official actions taken by the Council December 2017 through September 2018:

- Budget & Finance:
 - Agreed to forward a resolution to the fall convention recommending the 2019 assessment rate be reduced from 15% to 14.5% of the Net Disposable Income (NDI).
 - Agreed to forward a resolution to the fall convention recommending the 2020 assessment rate be set at 14.5% of the Net Disposable Income (NDI).
 - Adopted a balanced 2019 operating budget to be forwarded for ratification at the fall 2018 convention.
 - Approved 2019 grants to congregations as presented in the report from the Grants Committee.
- Everett, Trinity: Approved relief from unpaid assessment, accumulated 2010-2016.
- Bremerton, St. Paul: Approved relief from unpaid 2016 assessment, after congregation paid 10% of the balance owing.
- Miscellaneous: Approved the request of the diocesan bishop to provide bonuses to diocesan staff. /
 Recorded 2018 housing allowances as required by the IRS. / Approved revision to the 2018 supply clergy
 rates to reflect addition of a separate rate for one liturgy without preaching.

Members of the Diocesan Council:

The Rt. Rev. Greg Rickel, Bishop Diocesan; Jan Akin, Willapa–Lay, St. Benedict, Lacey; Jamie Balducci, Holy C–Lay, Epiphany Parish of Seattle; Rilla Barrett, Mt. Baker-Clergy, St. Stephen, Oak Harbor; Amelia Carroll, Rainier–Lay, Christ Church, Tacoma; David Coburn, Evergreen–Lay, St. James, Kent; Joan Collins, Peninsula–Lay, St. Barnabas, Bainbridge Island; Doyt Conn, Holy C-Clergy, Epiphany Parish of Seattle; Linda Donato, Mt. Baker–Lay, Christ Church, Anacortes; Jim Eichner, Eastside–Clergy, Holy Cross, Redmond; Sally Farrell, Eastside–Lay, Good Samaritan, Sammamish; Drew Foisie, Sno Isle–Clergy, St. Aidan, Camano Island; John Forman, Evergreen–Clergy, St. Elizabeth, Burien; Jedediah Fox, Be Attitudes-Clergy, Church of the Redeemer, Kenmore; Joslin Harris-Gane, Be-Attitudes–Lay, Christ Church, Seattle; Libby Jensen, Columbia–Lay, Good Shepherd, Vancouver; R.C. Laird, Willapa-Clergy, St. John, Olympia; Denice Patrick, Sno Isle–Lay, St. Hilda-St. Patrick, Edmonds; Gail Wheatley, Peninsula–Clergy, St. Andrew, Port Angeles; Michael Wright, Columbia-Clergy, St. Stephen, Longview; Martin Yabroff, Rainier–Clergy, St. Andrew, Tacoma; Others with seat and voice: Judith Andrews, Diocesan Chancellor; April Caballero, Recording Secretary; Marda Steedman Sanborn, Canon to the Ordinary; Barbara Fox, Diocesan Treasurer; Hal Hall, Consulting Canon for Finance; Dennis Tierney, chair, Budget & Finance Committee & Diocesan Property Manager; Dede Moore, Canon for Governance & Human Resources.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the Diocesan Council by, Canon Dede Moore, Canon for Governance & Human Resources